Strathmore University Gladiators


The Strathmore Men’s Hockey alias Gladiators traces its humble beginnings to 2002/03 when Strathmore was transitioning from a college to a university. It has since grown fromaneightpersonoutfitto a force to be reckoned with in the Kenya Hockey Premier League. They are nicknamed Gladiators for their “never give up” attitude.  The current coach, Meshack Senge, has led both the men and ladies’ team since 2008…

Read More

In 2006, the Gladiators became the first ever university side to lift the national league trophy in its maiden appearance; it did this in style by winning all but one of its matches in that season. In 2006/07 it was the first ever university side to participate in and lift the East Africa Club Championship cup in Moshi, Tanzania. In 2007/08 it was the first ever university side to join the Kenya Hockey Union men’s premier league.


The team faced a blow when they lost their first coach, Eric Shiahale ‘Eriko’ mid-season and suffered a major ban on the players that season. Nonetheless, they still went on to finish the league among the top. In 2008/09 it was the first ever university side to lift the Kenya Hockey Union men’s premier league trophy and the first ever team to do so in only its second attempt. In 2010 the Strathmore Gladiators made history by being the 3rd team in the history of Kenyan Hockey to win the men’s premier league back-to-back. The team holds the titles for all the editions of the Kenya University Sports hockey championships, the East Africa inter-varsity sports hockey championships, amongst many more. They have come close to clinching the African Hockey Club Championship, falling to Egypt’s Sharkia in 2012. They last won the Kenya Hockey Premier League in 2016, beating perennial champions Kenya Police in the semi-finals and the then defending champions Butali Warriors in the finals.


Gladiators are currently fifth in the league. The team trains in the sports complex and on occasion at City Park grounds where their league games are played.

Achievements and Highlights

2016 – Premier league champions

2012 – African Hockey Club finalists

2010 – Premier league champions



Sign up with your email to get our newsletter